Head to head
BFGoodrich KM3 vs Maxxis RAZR MT
Identical on load rating in the most common size, and separated by warranty, by price volatility, and by what happens when you go to 37s. Neither manufacturer publishes a ply count.
By Bill Belcamino · Last verified 17 September 2026
What the published data supports
In LT285/70R17 both are 121/118Q Load Range E carrying 3,195 lb at 80 psi. There is no load-capacity decision to make in that size. In 37×12.50R17 they separate sharply: the Maxxis carries 3,970 lb, the highest published figure in the size, against the BFGoodrich’s 3,525 lb at 50 psi — because it is listed in Load Range E where the BFGoodrich is Load Range D.
BFGoodrich publishes a clear warranty term. Maxxis does not list the MT-772 on its mileage-warranty page at all, and a widely advertised 40,000-mile figure could not be verified with the manufacturer.
Side by side
Specification
BFGoodrich KM3
Maxxis RAZR MT
Load index / speed (LT285/70R17)
121/118Q
121/118Q
Load at pressure (LT285/70R17)
3,195 lb at 80 psi
3,195 lb at 80 psi
Tread depth (LT285/70R17)
18/32″
18/32″
Weight (LT285/70R17)
67.1 lb
64.6 lb
Weight (33×12.50R17)
67.6 lb
Not listed in this size
Tread depth (LT315/70R17)
Not published in the data we found
19/32″
Weight (LT315/70R17)
Not published in the data we found
73.5 lb
Load range (LT315/70R17)
Not published in the data we found
D — 3,195 lb at 50 psi
Measured diameter (37×12.50R17)
36.5″
36.8″
Maximum load (37×12.50R17)
3,525 lb at 50 psi · Load Range D
3,970 lb at 65 psi · Load Range E
Weight (37×12.50R17)
77.4 lb
79.8 lb
Sidewall description
CoreGard Max
“Armor sidewall design”, “dual-cord body-ply technology”
Ply count
Not published
Not published
Published noise figure
None published
None published
3PMSF certification
Not stated
Not stated
Warranty
Life of original usable tread, or six years
General limited warranty to 2/32″ or six years from manufacture
Tread depth, weight and load figures are from the tiresize specification pages, except the LT315/70R17 rows. Nothing has been carried across from a neighbouring size to fill a gap.
Where the BFGoodrich has documented advantages
The warranty is the clearest difference. BFGoodrich publishes a term covering the life of the original usable tread, or six years from purchase. Maxxis lists specific mileage warranties for the RAZR AT-S, RAZR AT and RAZR HT — and does not list the MT-772 among them. Its general limited warranty runs to 2/32″ remaining tread or six years from manufacture, which is a workmanship warranty rather than a treadwear one.
Two large retailers advertise a 40,000-mile warranty on the RAZR MT. We could not verify that figure with Maxxis. Buying on the strength of a retailer’s warranty column is a good way to discover there is nothing behind it — warranties compared sets out what these documents actually promise.
BFGoodrich also states its engineering claims as numbers against its own predecessor: 5% better mud traction, 8% better traction on rock and slick surfaces, and sidewalls it describes as 27% tougher on internal puncture testing. Maxxis publishes no comparable figures.
Where the Maxxis has documented advantages
In 37×12.50R17 the RAZR MT carries 3,970 lb — the highest published maximum load of any tire in our set, and 445 lb per corner more than the BFGoodrich’s 3,525 lb at 50 psi. The reason matters: in this size the Maxxis is listed as Load Range E at 65 psi, where the BFGoodrich is Load Range D at 50 psi. It is a different load range, not a stronger version of the same tire — and if you are buying 37s to carry weight, it is the most consequential published difference between these two.
Price is the other one, though it cuts both ways. On 10 September 2026 the Maxxis ranged from $292.85 to $374.12 per tire depending on retailer — an $81 swing on the same day, or $325 across a set. Found at the bottom of that range it undercuts the BFGoodrich substantially; found at the top it does not.
What the evidence does not establish
Neither manufacturer publishes a ply count. BFGoodrich states nothing; Maxxis describes an “armor sidewall design” and “dual-cord body-ply technology” without ever stating a number of plies. The widely repeated “Maxxis RAZR MT 3-ply sidewall” traces to retailer catalogue listings, where the phrase is part of the product name rather than a manufacturer specification.
It may well be a three-ply casing. We simply could not find Maxxis saying so. If it matters to you, read the sidewall — federal marking rules require the actual ply count to be moulded into the tire.
Neither tire has been measured against the other in public. Neither publishes a noise figure, and neither carries 3PMSF certification.
What they cost
Readings from the price tracker, re-checked monthly against the same retailer and the same size.
Tire
Per tire, LT285/70R17
Read
BFGoodrich KM3
$339.99
11 Sep 2026
Maxxis RAZR MT
$374.12
11 Sep 2026
At the tracked reading the BFGoodrich is $34.13 per tire cheaper, but both move across retailers — the KM3 from $339.99 to $404.49 and the Maxxis from $292.85 to $374.12 on 10 September 2026. On the right day either one can be the cheaper tire, which makes this a pairing worth shopping rather than deciding in advance.
Which matters for your use case
If you are fitting 37s to a heavy truck and buying to an axle load, the Maxxis is listed in a higher load range and carries 445 lb more per corner.
If a verifiable warranty matters, the BFGoodrich is the only one of the two with a term you can hold the manufacturer to.
If sidewall ply count is your deciding factor, neither manufacturer answers the question — read the sidewall of the tire in front of you.
If you are price-sensitive, shop both: the ranges overlap enough that the cheaper tire depends on the day and the retailer.
Model pages
Full published specifications for each tire: BFGoodrich KM3 · Maxxis RAZR MT
Related
RAZR MT vs Trail Grappler · KM3 vs Trail Grappler · sidewall plies and ply rating · warranties compared · 37-inch mud tires · what the spec sheets get wrong
Sources
BFGoodrich, Mud-Terrain T/A KM3 product page (bfgoodrichtires.com) · Maxxis US, RAZR MT (maxxis.com) · Maxxis US, Automotive Warranty (maxxis.com) · Tire Size, KM3 and RAZR MT model specification pages (tiresize.com) · Tire Rack, BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM3 specifications (tirerack.com) · SimpleTire, RAZR MT-772 (simpletire.com).
How these figures are gathered and what we refuse to estimate: our method.