Head to head
Falken Wildpeak M/T vs Maxxis RAZR MT
This pairing turns on one question: which manufacturer tells you how the tire is built. Only one of them does, and the specification widely attributed to the other does not come from the manufacturer at all.
By Bill Belcamino · Last verified 17 September 2026
What the published data supports
Falken publishes three-ply DURASPEC construction with two high ply turn-ups. Maxxis describes an “armor sidewall design” and “dual-cord body-ply technology” and never states a ply count. The “Maxxis RAZR MT 3-ply sidewall” repeated across the internet traces to retailer catalogue listings, where the phrase is part of the product name.
Where both are documented, the Maxxis carries the highest published maximum load in 37×12.50R17 of any tire in our set. Neither publishes a noise figure, a 3PMSF certification, or a verifiable treadwear warranty.
Side by side
Specification
Falken Wildpeak M/T
Maxxis RAZR MT
Sidewall construction
Three-ply DURASPEC, two high ply turn-ups
Not published — “armor sidewall design”, “dual-cord body-ply”
Ply count
Three, stated by Falken
Not published by Maxxis
Tread depth (LT285/70R17 Load E)
20/32″
Not published in the data we found
Weight (LT285/70R17 Load E)
63.3 lb
Not published in the data we found
Load index / speed (LT285/70R17)
121/118Q
121/118Q
Load at pressure (LT285/70R17)
3,195 lb at 80 psi
3,195 lb at 80 psi
Tread depth (LT315/70R17)
Not published in the data we found
19/32″
Weight (LT315/70R17)
Not published in the data we found
73.5 lb
Load range (LT315/70R17)
Not published in the data we found
D — 3,195 lb at 50 psi
Measured diameter (37×12.50R17)
36.7″
36.8″
Maximum load (37×12.50R17)
Not published in the data we found
3,970 lb
Composite retailer rating
8.4 overall
Not rated on this scale
3PMSF certification
Not stated
Not stated
Warranty
None found in the data reviewed
General limited warranty to 2/32″ or six years from manufacture
The two tires are documented in different sizes for depth and weight. Nothing has been carried across from a neighbouring size to fill a gap.
Where the Falken has documented advantages
Falken states its casing construction: three-ply DURASPEC with two high ply turn-ups. That is a manufacturer specification, published by the company, that a buyer can hold it to. On a pair of tires bought largely for sidewall survival, only one of these two has answered the question.
Falken also publishes 20/32″ of tread at 63.3 lb in LT285/70R17 Load Range E — the deepest documented tread in our set. Maxxis publishes neither figure for that size.
One caution specific to the Falken: it is sold in LT285/70R17 in Load Range C as well as E, and the C is a different tire — 116/113Q, 18/32″, 61.3 lb, 2,755 lb at 50 psi. Buy the part number, not the size.
Where the Maxxis has documented advantages
In 37×12.50R17 the RAZR MT carries 3,970 lb, the highest published maximum load of any tire in our set. Falken publishes no figure for that size in the data we reviewed, so this is a documented Maxxis strength rather than a measured win over the Falken.
In LT315/70R17 Maxxis publishes 19/32″ at 73.5 lb — a size where Falken publishes nothing we could find. If you are running 315s, the Maxxis is the better documented of the two.
Price volatility works in the Maxxis’s favour if you shop it. On 10 September 2026 it ranged from $292.85 to $374.12 per tire, an $81 swing on the same day.
What the evidence does not establish
The central gap is the Maxxis ply count. It may well be a three-ply casing — we simply could not find Maxxis saying so, and we will not restate a retailer’s product-listing name as a manufacturer specification. Federal marking rules require the actual ply count to be moulded into the sidewall and the tread, so read the tire in front of you. What the spec sheets get wrong covers how this particular error spreads.
The two tires are documented in different sizes, so no single size allows a direct depth-and-weight comparison from published data.
Neither publishes a noise figure. Neither carries 3PMSF. Neither has a treadwear warranty we could verify with the manufacturer, and neither has been measured against the other in public.
What they cost
Readings from the price tracker, re-checked monthly against the same retailer and the same size.
Tire
Per tire, LT285/70R17
Read
Falken Wildpeak M/T
$400.00
11 Sep 2026
Maxxis RAZR MT
$374.12
11 Sep 2026
At the tracked reading the Maxxis is $25.88 per tire cheaper, but both swing hard across retailers — the Falken from $303.96 to $400.00 and the Maxxis from $292.85 to $374.12 on 10 September 2026. Either can be the cheaper tire depending on where you look, so this pairing rewards shopping more than deciding in advance.
Which matters for your use case
If published sidewall construction is what you are buying on, only the Falken supplies it.
If you are running 315s or fitting 37s to a heavy truck, the Maxxis is the better documented of the two in those sizes.
If you are buying on tread depth in the common 17-inch size, the Falken publishes 20/32″ and the Maxxis publishes nothing.
If you are price-sensitive, shop both — the ranges overlap almost completely.
Model pages
Full published specifications for each tire: Falken Wildpeak M/T · Maxxis RAZR MT
Related
sidewall plies and ply rating · what the spec sheets get wrong · RAZR MT vs Trail Grappler · Wildpeak vs KM3 · load range explained · price tracker
Sources
Falken Tire, Wildpeak M/T (falkentire.com) · Maxxis US, RAZR MT (maxxis.com) · Maxxis US, Automotive Warranty (maxxis.com) · Tire Size, Wildpeak M/T and RAZR MT model specification pages (tiresize.com) · SimpleTire, Falken Wildpeak MT01 and RAZR MT-772 (simpletire.com).
How these figures are gathered and what we refuse to estimate: our method.